A Prince Far Far Away

13 Sep

So the Mr. decided to take a job that would keep him away from me for nearly a month. That is IF he gets the okay to come home October-ish…

With all this ME-time I really am started to comprehend the old adage – Distance makes the heart grow fonder… Except it’s making me think naughty not nice???

Our phone calls are short as we’ve never really been the type to gab for hours… Then there’s the mountaineous weight of house duties that I have to pick up as we USED to share the burden. Oh and I forgot to mention that Billy G and Chuck Norris have decided to become obsessively needy and VOCAL to boot (especially when I’m talking on the phone of course!).

So instead of the room lighting up when I hear his voice on the other line, my patience has been wearing thin. His voice is just NOT good enough. I have no idea what he’s doing on the other end but it’s just not the same as our practise of spending 15 minutes of one-on-one time to catch up on our lives. Who needs to talk when you can say everything by lounging together and forgetting your day?

I’ve actually tried writing down summaries so that I can fill him in but that’s almost impossible between the multitude of chores and trips everyday. So scratch that. Plus I’ve only got about 6 seconds of his attention before I know he’s not fully *there* anymore.

I need something… Something that we can share – NOT over the phone – while he’s away. I hate this long distance crap. Time to do some research… I’m thinking games, pranks (yes!), notes, gifts. He’s (hopefully) coming home for a week sometime October so I have some time to cook something up. I want to send him out with a package – at least… Anyone else have some grand ideas?

And because I know someone will think of this – yes – the naughty photos are already included *wink. What wouldn’t a wifey do for her man???

the Mrs.

4 Responses to “A Prince Far Far Away”

  1. Melanie September 15, 2010 at 6:00 AM #

    awwww my dear friend! I have also heard there might be a chance my boyfriend gets shiped to Saskatchewan!! Im not thrilled, not happy and as a matter of fact I kinda felt angry over the situation. We hardley get time together in the summer cause of bikes, I was looking foward to the fall since he would start having more spare time… now there might be a slight chance of him leaving for 3 months??!!
    I know how it feels since 2 years ago he was gone for 6 weeks.
    You can try and get buzy all you want, I know there is so much to do when you are one single person in a household. But I know the void you feel no matter how buzy u can get, that person is still not there. Wish you all the best xoxo

    • the Mrs. September 19, 2010 at 11:20 AM #

      Yes I’ve definitely kept myself busy – so busy that I’m exhausted when he calls! I’m hoping to adjust – one day at a time right? So your man might be going away for work too eh? Sheesh – I guess we’ll be keeping in touch more often! :)

  2. Frenchie Fanatic September 14, 2010 at 9:48 AM #

    Oy – long distance is the pits! Mr. S and I did long distance for 19 months before I moved to his city. Granted it was only NYC and Chicago but not being able to see one another really does start to take toll on you.

    I like the idea of notes. Maybe you can write a week’s worth and send them to his hotel and they can slip it under his door every morning/evening?

    • the Mrs. September 19, 2010 at 11:18 AM #

      That’s not a bad idea actually… It’d be a bit difficult as he changes hotels randomly but it’d be worth the try! Thanks :)

Leave a Reply

