Book Review: Smart Couples Finish Rich (Cdn Version) Part 7

26 May

 

Step 9 – Increase Income 10% in 9 weeks

Bach prescribes a “Proactive Income 9-Week Plan” outlining a step-by-step plan to increase your income by 10% in just 9 weeks. Each week breaks down the required positive actions to see this goal come to fruition.

Steps include:

Understanding your true hourly wage
Evolving from complaint mode to action mode
Writing down and posting your expectations as encouragement
Cleaning up both your office and home
Identifying the value you add to your company
Applying the 80/20 rule and maximizing this ratio
Evaluating your positions’ worth outside of your own company
Verbally practicing your request for a raise
And lastly, celebrating your success – be it through increasing your worth as an employee or even achieving the 10% increase this step by step plan envisions.

As I just received a raise less than 3 months ago and am in line for another in less than 2 months, I haven’t completed this plan – but – I have definitely jotted down a few notes to keep in mind for next year’s performance review. Overall, at the very least this chapter does a great job at amping up your self-confidence and work performance.

Previous: Part 6

Overall, Smart Couples Finish Rich truly outlines proactive money management for all couples, married or living together. The book provides a conclusive review of your current financial situation, solid investment advice, and easy-to-use tools to get started on your path to financial freedom.

David Bach is a spectacular motivational author, and I was grateful that he shared his strategies for living and finishing rich. All of the techniques highlighted were applicable and presented in a fresh and easy-to-understand manner. This book is a great read for couples on the precipice of merging their finances, be it at the forefront of marriage or a new chapter of a long-term relationship.

My rating: 4 out of 5 stars

~

Now – down to the feedback… Personally, I felt I went way too deep in review – typical for those who know me :) But – this book really pulled a lot of weight for us right now as we are on the verge of becoming debt free.  I wanted to share exactly how we as a married couple were affected by the book’s sound advice, piece for piece. I tried to reread what I wrote (each Part) and couldn’t even finish without becoming bored myself on the longest post – haha.

As I am writing these for my readers out there, your opinion would be painstakingly appreciated. I’m aiming to cut down any further reviews to be short and sweet – but it’s going to take some practice I think – like packing for a trip; I can’t take everything with me :)  So – what lengths would you like to see (one-page, multiple short posts, full reviews like this one)? Give me a shout!

the Mrs.

Leave a Reply

